Wednesday, December 29, 2010

TunaTreats Gourmet Bonito Flakes from CitiKitty Review


Thanks to CitiKitty for sending me a sample to review, free product does not = a good review, all opinions are my own and my cats.... ;)


So I was super duper excited when someone from CitiKitty contacted me about doing a review of their new product TunaTreats, an all natural tuna treat for cats! I love to spoil my lil furbabies and I jumped at the chance for them to be able to try a new treat!

I love sushi, especially some spicy tuna! And in my mind this was like treating my babies to a bit of sushi....I mean it might not be raw fish wrapped in seaweed and rice, but it's dried fish right?.... ya that's the way my mind works.


I received a 2oz container of TunaTreats...which for only 2 ozs is HUGE at least to me.. and I LOVE that the treats come in a jar as my cats have been known to eat up the flimsy plastic bags other treat come in...

Big pluses already...

And then I opened the jar itself...BIG ole wave of fishy goodness hits...it's not bad bad, but it's STRONG and lets you know it is indeed 100% natural fish.

Let me just also mention I was in a room secluded from my kitties, which in hindsight was a good thing...I'll tell you why later...

So I took out a lil sliver, which is how the TunaTreats come in these nice shavings of Bonito fish, and gave it a lil poke and a prod because I AM that picky about what I feed my cats!

Looks like Ginger...smells like...well smells


I was happy enough to then give my darling Pixie Kitty a sample....
but first I wanted to experiment a little.


A little background on Pixie Kitty:
She was born very sickly and had all kinds of problems which resulted in her being deaf as a doornail...
So her sense of smell is greatly heightened....

SOOOOOOOO

Picture this...
Pixie Kitty sound asleep on the love seat amongst my after Christmas shopping
In comes mean ole Momma (that's me) and untwists the lid to the TunaTreats...


Pixie Kitty soundly asleep....lets see if she wakes up when I twist off the lid...

I kid you not, in like 0 to 60 her head popped up before I EVEN had the lid all the way off and before I could even fully set the container down her head was in the container and her tongue was lapping at the treats inside!


Popped awake and in no time flat before I could even set down the container had her head IN the jar

After she had gotten a couple of pieces I tried to take the container away from her....she actually got rather militant about it, growling and trying to pull it back with her paws....Pretty sure that means she likes it!

Om Nom Nom.....

I'd like to congratulate CitiKitty on making a food substitue for KittyNip, as my cats go just as nuts for TunaTreats as they do for their KittyNip...and that's saying something as they're all horrid lil KittyNip addicts!! I will for sure make TunaTreats a part of my regular kitty shopping list!

MINI UPDATE I've had to resort to actually hiding the TunaTreats container as the shelf I first put it on got raided by the lil addicts, knocked across the room and under a table where they proceeded to chew through the plastic container (unknown to me of course)

OMG They ate the container!!!


My only suggestions to CitiKitty are to add an addiction warning label and a steel container for the treats instead of plastic. Just kidding of course, but both most likely would not go amiss!


 From CitiKitty about TunaTreats

TunaTreats are:
  • 100% All Natural Bonito (Skip Jack Tuna)
  • A healthy treat for both cats and dogs
  • High in protein and amino acids
  • Promote both a shiny coat and healthy lifestyle



TunaTreats are available in three great sizes:


 2oz, 6oz, and 1 lb. containers

Our easy to handle grip jar is perfect for treat dispensing



Where can you buy TunaTreats?



http://www.tunatreats.com/

www.amazon.com/TunaTreats-Gourmet-Bonito-Flakes-Container/dp/B004CFJ140/



Follow CitiKitty!

http://www.citikitty.com/

http://www.facebook.com/citikitty

www.twitter.com/citikitty








 
 

post signature

DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo BZZ Review


As part of being a BZZ agent I recieved a Free DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo to try out! This in no way affected my review!


Print the widest variety of DYMO labels with one versatile printer. With the DYMO LabelWriter you’re ready to tackle virtually any labeling or mailing job. Print impressive address labels, shipping labels, file folder labels, name badges and more, at speeds up to 71 labels per minute.* Use the included DYMO Stamps® software to print precise USPS-approved postage directly from your desktop – without fees, contracts or monthly commitments.** AND print permanent DYMO D1 plastic labels in a variety of sizes and colors – perfect when you need durable labels for your office or workplace. Like all LabelWriter printers the LabelWriter Duo printer never needs ink or toner, and includes software you can use to print labels directly from text in popular software programs, verify US addresses and ZIP+4 codes, and much more. *4-line address label **Internet connection required. DYMO Stamps® service provided by Endicia, a licensed USPS® PC Postage™ provider.

The DYMO has an easy to install program and it's almost as easy to put the labels in the machine!


A snapshot of the label program itself!

 I had a little trouble installing the D1 label cassette, but nothing my husband couldn't easily fix! The computer program itself to make the labels is easy to navigate and fun to play with the different labels you can make.

 As a blogger I sometimes do giveaways, and some of those giveaways I need to send the winner their winnings. The DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo allows me to add a special touch by enabling me to personalize not only the address label, but also the return address label fast and easily. 
A picture of the DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo doing it's thing!


Tried printing out an address label with my lil fairy...lil disappointed that it didn't come out very cleat

Tried another label, this time with some of the more simple clip art found on the label program...turned out much better!


I loved the fact the DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo was small and compact! Another plus is the only thing I have to buy are the labels! No ink cartridges needed with it's efficient direct thermal printing! Overall a great product!



Want a DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo of your own? Thanks to BZZ and DYMO I have a code good for $50 off on the DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo.

Shop at http://dymo.com/LW450DUO

Add the DYMO LabelWriter 450 Duo to your cart

Then enter code BZZDUO2010 when prompted at checkout!

The code is good until 2/15/11 so enjoy!












post signature

Monday, December 27, 2010

Lily of the Nile by Stephanie Dray Book Review

Release Date
January 4, 2011

**From the Press Release**

Stephanie Dray brings us the first novel in her forthcoming trilogy about Cleopatra's daughter, Cleopatra Selene, the Queen of Mauretania. In Lily of the Nile Stephanie uses the stories of women through history to create a modern heroine with the transformative power of magic realism.

Synopsis:

With her parents dead, the daughter of Cleopatra and Mark Antony is left at the mercy of her Roman captors. Heir to one empire and prisoner of another, it falls to Princess Selene to save her brothers and reclaim what is rightfully hers…

In the aftermath of Alexandria’s tragic fall, Princess Selene is taken from Egypt, the only home she’s ever known. Along with her two surviving brothers, she’s put on display as a war trophy in Rome. Selene’s captors mock her royalty and drag her through the streets in chains, but on the brink of death, the children are spared as a favor to the emperor’s sister, who takes them to live as hostages in the so-called lamentable embassy of royal orphans…


Now trapped in a Roman court of intrigue that reviles her heritage and suspects her faith, Selene can’t hide the hieroglyphics that carve themselves into her flesh. Nor can she stop the emperor from using her for his own political ends. But faced with a new and ruthless Caesar who is obsessed with having a Cleopatra of his very own, Selene is determined honor her mother’s lost legacy. The magic of Egypt and Isis remain within her. But can she succeed where her mother failed? And what will it cost her in a political game where the only rule is win or die?


Lily of the Nile by Stephanie Dray
Berkley Trade January 2011 (Trade Paperback, 430 pages)
# ISBN-10: 0425238555
# ISBN-13: 978-0425238554





I first fell in love with Cleopatra through Elizabeth Taylor...while I realize now the movie didn't portray the actual events very well I still enjoy the idea of a woman who could stand toe to toe with a Roman Emperor using her charm, wit, and guile (and prolly some other things) to get what she wanted.

I must admit while I do enjoy Egyptian lore and history I'm not particularly up to snuff when it came to the FULL history of Cleopatra...including that she had children by Mark Antony! So I was very intrigued and excited when I was offered an advanced reading copy of  "Lily of the Nile" by Stephanie Dray.

Before I even received the book I did some light research to discover a little more about Cleopatra's children. Caesarion who was fathered by Julius Caesar and then Cleopatra and Antony's children, twins - Cleopatra Selene, and Alexander Helios and the younger son, Ptolemy Philadelphus. I don't want to go any further into what history I found on the children because you might want to research on your own, or let the book unfold for itself. However I do want to tell you how much I enjoyed "Lily of the Nile"!



From the very first chapter Stephanie Dray endears you to her characters especially Cleopatra's young daughter Cleopatra Selene. There are many times in the book where I just want to gather up Cleopatra's children to hug and protect them so powerful is Dray's writing as to draw out so much compassion from the reader. Selene and her siblings endure much after their mother's death at the hands of the Romans, especially Octavian. Throughout it all Selene, Helios, and Philadelphus all deal with their situation differently and they all struggle with their reality and the choices they make versus what they believe would be expected of them as children of Cleopatra and future rulers of Egypt. Those conflicts are very universal as I believe we all struggle with the choices we make versus what we feel might otherwise be expected of us from others.

Lily of the Nile is a wonderful work of historical fiction with touches of fantasy and magic! I won't spoil it, but the parts with magic are intriguing and kept me waiting with baited breath to see when they would happen again!


If there is any complaint to be found with this book it's I wish it were longer! I completely understand the book is about Cleopatra's children and what happens to them in the wake of her death, but Dray introduces such rich characters like Julia, Octavian's daughter and only true heir, and Octavia, Octavian's sister and Mark Antony's widowed Roman wife, it kinda made me wish the book were longer just so I could get more of them!

I really look forward to the other two books of the trilogy and Selene's further adventures maneuvering through the perils of being not only Cleopatra's daughter, but also now being a woman of Rome and all that it entails! Perhaps if we're lucky someone might option the trilogy for a movie or TV deal! I do love the Tudor Dynasty, but I think it's far past time for Ptolemaic Egypt to get a chance to shine!

Oh and a few minor warnings that I'd like to mention, though given the subject matter and the historical time frame it shouldn't be too surprising. There is a light touching upon incestuous relationships (nothing graphic), animal sacrifices, and gladiatorial sport (which includes both human and animal)....again nothing too surprising given the book involves Egyptian Royalty and Romans!




I was sent the book "Lily of the Nile" free to review,  however just because I got a free book did in no way shape my judgement of said book......that is all ;)






post signature

Wednesday, December 22, 2010

The winners are...




With 6 valid entries.....the winners are






Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug} said... 1


Publicly following Penny Pinching Pixie Reviews and Giveaways with Google Friend Connect [Cheryl F. {The Lucky Ladybug}] -- *Thanks* for the giveaway!

http://scr.im/ladybugemail
December 18, 2010 2:24 PM



evrywoman said... 3

I am a new twitter follower

evrywoman@yahoo.com
December 18, 2010 4:02 PM








Stacy said... 5

I follow you via email!

smtilton @ comcast.net
December 19, 2010 11:55 AM






I'll be sending an email and you'll have 24 hours to confirm your win or I pick new winners!




Congrats!
















post signature

Monday, December 20, 2010

And the winner is...




With 84 valid entries.....the winner is







Liz said... 59



I follow you on Twitter! @FakeGradSchool




eemoody77 at gmail dot com



December 19, 2010 4:33 PM





I'll be sending an email and you'll have 48 hours to confirm your win!




Congrats!














post signature

Saturday, December 18, 2010

Merry Christmas! RedBox Codes Giveaway!! Ends 12/21

Baby Pixie Kitty! 2 years ago!
 
 
Wanted to thank you, my readers....well for being readers!
 
 
 
I have 3 Redbox codes to give to 3 lucky winners!
 
 
A short, easy giveaway just in time for the holidays!
 
I know I love curling up with my loved ones and watching a good movie over the holidays!
 
 
 
One entry per person!
 
Just leave me a comment letting me know you follow me, somehow, somewhere....
aka Twitter, here, my main blog, or RSS
 
 
 
Thanks and Much Love!
 
 
 
Contest Ends 11:59pm CST 12/21 and Winners will be notified via email before noon cst 12/22. Winners will have 24 hours to email back to confirm their win and I will then email the code.
 
 
 
post signature

The Cleopatra Literary Contest for Young Women


 I'd like to give a heads up to a writing contest for young ladies founded by Stephanie Dray called The Cleopatra Literary Contest for Young Women.

 It is an international writing contest aimed at discovering and mentoring aspiring young female writers.

Stephanie Dray's debut novel Lily of the Nile (Berkley Books; January 4, 2011) is an inspired blend of historical fiction and fantasy. Lily of the Nile unveils the little-known story of Princess Selene, daughter of the famous lovers Queen Cleopatra and Roman general Mark Antony. Born under a prophetic star, Selene loses her parents and her home--the Kingdom of Egypt--in the aftermath of Alexandria’s fall to Roman power. As a prisoner of Emperor Augustus, she struggles to find her voice in a Roman court of intrigue that debases her royal heritage and demonizes her faith…until the day a mysterious message of hieroglyphics carves itself into her flesh and Selene realizes the magic of Egypt and Isis still remain within her.

As a student of history herself, Stephanie wrote Lily of the Nile to encourage young women to learn from the past and to transcend the expectations of society to create a better tomorrow.

Which lead to the founding of the contest!





The contest is divided into two categories for ages 13 through 18 and ages 19 through 22 and asks writers to expand upon the universal themes found within Lily of the Nile by creatively relating them to their own lives.

Categories include poetry, prose, creative non-fiction, and short stories.

Contestants have the opportunity to compete for a grand prize in both age groups (choice between a Kindle Reader or a $100 prize) along with a month-long mentorship with Stephanie Dray as well as a personalized
critique from NY literary agent, Jennifer Schober of Spencerhill Associates. In addition, every finalist in the contest will receive an Ankh charm—the Egyptian symbol of life.


Rule and guideline submissions can be found here






 
Also Stay tuned for an upcoming review of Lily of the Nile! I'm looking forward to reading it!





Disclaimer thing-a-ma-jig
Non-Paid post, did receive an advanced copy of the Lily of the Nile to review...free book does not = good review
All opinions are my own ;)


post signature



Wednesday, December 15, 2010

Random Acts of Zhu 2010!



To date this prolly has been the hardest blog post I've ever written, because there is so much emotion behind it for me.

First and foremost my heartfelt thanks go out to Cepia LLC, makers of ZhuZhu pets for the opportunity to participate in Random Acts of Zhu 2010.


Because of Cepia, as part of Random Acts of Zhu 2010, I was given 104 ZhuZhu pets. 100 to donate to the charity of my choice, 4 to keep if I wished. 100 ZhuZhus went to Cook Children’s Medical Center in Fort Worth in memory of my cousin Hunter and 4 ZhuZhus will be going to Hunter's younger sister and brother.

When I was first approached about participating in Random Acts of Zhu I honestly cried. I was so happy, honored, and humbled to be asked to participate. I knew exactly where I would be making my donation!

Cook Children’s Medical Center!

My family and I have been making donations every year for quite some time to Cook Children’s Medical Center, and to be able to make such a LARGE donation filled my heart with joy!

Cook Children’s Medical Center holds a special, yet sad place in my heart because that's where my cousin Hunter received cancer treatment. Hunter died shortly before his 3rd birthday and would have been 15 this past October. So to be able to honor his memory and to be able to bring 100 smiles to the children who are currently at Cook Children’s Medical Center made me speechless!


Hunter

I arrived home one day to 13 small boxes stacked by twos.....just almost about as tall as me on my front porch! I hurried them inside only for Pixie Kitty to quickly lay claim to them!

Pixie Kitty wanted to know if she could keep her tower 'o boxes


Pixie Kitty patiently supervised me opening each box....She even made sure the insides of the boxes were for sure empty for me!

This is what 100 smiles look like

As soon as I had the donations in hand I contacted Cook Children’s Medical Center to arrange for my donation! I spoke with the lovely Julie Doré who set up a time and date for me to bring by the new, unwrapped ZhuZhus for donation!

I was SO excited, even though I couldn't wrap all 100 ZhuZhus I wanted to at least put them in something a little festive! So I got a roll of some of my favorite wrapping paper, and a BIG shipping box from my Dad and went to town wrapping! But even the big shipping box wasn't big enough for 100 ZhuZhus so I had to tuck the last of the lil fellas in a handy dandy HANDLED printer box....(wish the bigger box had had handles...but it looked o so pretty!)


Me Wrapping the Uber BIG box to deliver the Zhu Zhu's in!


As per the arrangements with Julie, I was able to park right outside the main entrance to deliver my ZhuZhus! I grabbed a trolley and loaded up to wheel it all inside! The inside was so festive with lights and peppermint decorations! I wish I had a better camera to really capture how nice the decorations were!


The Entrance waiting area with the Tree and Santa Throne


Julie was sweet enough to pose with my donation because I'm a lil camera shy! After giving my donation to Julie she gave me a donation slip to fill out and I was on my way back home! I cannot tell you what an awesome rush it was to hand over all those toys knowing where they would be going!



Julie Doré in Front of the beautiful tree with my donation!


Close up! Thanks Julie, I'm camera shy ;)


It is so awesome and wonderful to help out special organizations like Cook Children’s Medical Center!


Places like hospitals, animal shelters, soup kitchens and many other places could use random acts of zhu (kindness)!

You can volunteer your time!


You can donate money and or goods!

Or if you don't think you can afford either of those options simply pass it on!
Let others who may be able to donate time and or money know the needs of these special organizations!

The power to make a difference lies within zhu!




My special thanks again to :

Cepia LLC for including me in Random Acts of Zhu 2010 and providing me the 104 ZhuZhus


Cook Children’s Medical Center for allowing me to use their name and the pictures I took!


Julie Doré the In-Kind Donations & Activity Coordinator who was so sweet and wonderful to let me take pictures of her!











post signature

Sunday, December 12, 2010

Make Chex Party Mix Blogspark Giveaway!

Disclosure:  My prize pack, information and the prize package for giveaway were all provided by Chex and Kroger through MyBlogSpark.


Cheers to a season filled with delicious, homemade holiday treats! Kroger® and Chex® Cereal have joined forces to help you whip up recipes for your holiday entertaining that are easy on your time as well as your budget!

I LOVE Chex Cereal, especially the rice and corn varieties! Sprinkle a lil sugar on top and I have a great cereal that doesn't get soggy too quick!

There are so MANY great tasting Chex Party Mix recipes that you can make in the microwave in only 15 minutes! Try The Original Chex® Party Mix or Chex® Ginger-Honey Crunch for sure crowd pleasers.

These Muddy Buddies are the ones I think I'll try making!

Looking for an easy gift idea for friends, family or co-workers? Try wrapping your favorite Chex Party Mix in a colorful tin or bag and personalize it with your own recipe card.

To make things even sweeter, Kroger Family of Stores will have Chex cereal on sale so you can impress your guests without stressing your wallet. For 3 weeks, from December 2nd - December 25th, Kroger will offer Chex cereal at their lowest prices of the year!

Don´t forget to visit Kroger and Chex on Facebook to"Like" their pages and keep up with recipes, news and their latest and greatest products. While you´re there, take a minute to share photos of your Chex creations and link to your blog post!



Giveaway details!


To Enter : Tell me what recipe you might like to try from the Chex Recipes!!


~The Prize~

Kroger "Chex Holiday Recipes" gift pack
 includes two samples of Chex cereal and a $25 gift card valid at the Kroger Family of Stores!



  



To qualify for your first entry (and any extra entries) you MUST first tell what recipe would you create with Chex and leave your email address!


For extra entries you can:
each one equals one extra entry unless otherwise marked



  • Friend me on Google Connect on this blog 


  • Subscribe to this Blog on RSS or Email



  • Tweet about this Giveaway, YOU MUST include a link to this post and the hashtag #myblogspark (each tweet = 1 entry, can tweet up to twice a day)

  • Share this giveaway on your blog, or facebook page and include a link to this page, then come back here tell me which you did and share the link




  • Like Chex on Facebook







THAT'S 10 Different ways for you to enter! Just make sure to do the Mandatory entry first!
AND be sure to submit a new entry for every method you use!
Also remember to include your Twitter username when submitting a Twitter Follow Entry!




Thanks to MyBlogSpark, Chex, and Kroger for providing the materials for this giveaway!


Open to US and Canada residents only please. Entries will be accepted until 11:59pm CST Sunday December 19th. The winner will be chosen via a random number generator Monday December 20th and announced that same day before noon CST. The winner will be notified by email and required to claim the win within 48 hours. Name, address, and phone number will be required to pass on to MyBlogSpark to get the prize to you.














post signature