Tuesday, December 27, 2011

Chick-Fil-​A Widget! With Cow Watch and Cow Plush Prize Pack Giveaway! Ends 1/1/12




Wanna win an awesome prize pack?
The prize pack will consist of:


Five Cow Watches!
and
Two Chick-fil-A Plush Cows!
 
Simply take the “Holiday Quiz” and share your results in the comments section !
 
Winner will be drawn randomly Sunday 1/1/12!!! Last entries accepted 12/31/11 11:59pm CST




post signature

Tuesday, December 13, 2011

And the Winner is...



In the Chex Mix giveaway, out of 78 vaild entries ...the winner is...








 
Elena said... 5

E-mail subscriber



elena150980@yahoo.com

December 2, 2011 4:28 PM

 
 
Congrats!
 
Sending an email now, and you'll have 48 hours to confirm your win!
 
 
 
 
post signature

Sunday, December 4, 2011

The Next Ice Stylist at Ice.com Contest and code offer! PLEASE VOTE!

(I was offered a $5o gift code and a chance to win some really awesome prizes in exchange for my post, that however did not influence my personal opinions)




Ice has been partnering with bloggers, musicians, TV stars and authors, asking them  to put together their own personal selections of their fave jewelry from Ice. You can check out their most recent Ice Guest Stylists here: http://www.ice.com/stylists/

I've been offered the opportunity to compete to be the next Ice Guest Stylist! In my bid to be the next Ice.com Stylist I was told to choose two pieces of jewelry from Ice that I absolutely loved because they matched my personal style!


The blogger whose post gets the most  votes by Dec. 16th, 2011 will be featured as an Ice Guest Stylist in early 2012!


It was soooo very hard to pick only two pieces, as I love so many items on Ice.com, there are so many wonderful unique pretties!


The two items I chose for my collection

1 Carat Rose De France & Black Diamond 10K White Gold Ring

5 1/10 Carat Amethyst & Black Diamond 10K White Gold Heart Pendant w/ Chain



I love these pieces because of their unique style and purple stones! Both items feature black diamonds in white gold settings and both feature amethysts. The Rose de France belongs to the amethyst family and is known for it's lovely lavender shade!




I own a lot of white gold jewelry that was passed down to me from my grandmother so white gold to me evokes an antique look that I love! So to pair classic white gold, with lovely bold black diamonds, and my favorite color gem stones is a beautiful, irresistible combo to me! The fact that the necklace is a feminine heart pendant makes the necklace an even more perfect piece because I could easily see wearing it dressed down with a blouse and jean skirt or dressed up with a cocktail dress. The ring of course would never come off my finger once it went on!



PLEASE
vote for my post by leaving a comment on this blog post or by ‘Like’ing my blog post using the Facebook Like button on my page here!



As a bonus
to you my readers I was given a code offer good for 20% off jewelry at Ice with coupon code FBBOC or by shopping this link: http://www.ice.com/?sourcecode=FBBOC .
(Some exclusions apply: This offer cannot be combined with any other offers. Offer is not valid for any clearance or sale items, engagement rings, watches or the Persona Charms Collection. Subject to availability. This offer expires January 15, 2012. )





post signature

Friday, December 2, 2011

Sam's Club Chex Party Mix-Change Giveaway! Ends 12/11


"Disclosure: The Sam´s Club gift card, information, and giveaway have been provided by Sam´s Club, Chex Party Mix and General Mills through MyBlogSpark."


Searching for ways to mix up this year´s holiday bash? Then why not host a Chex® Party Mix-Change, a modern spin on the traditional cookie swap with a delicious and savory twist! With several Chex Party Mix recipes that can be made in just 15 minutes and Sam´s Club stores providing you with everything needed to host a fabulous party, there´s no excuse to not call on family and friends for a celebration.



In fact, with all of the extra prep time being saved, you´ll be able to spend more time mingling with your guests this year than working in the kitchen.



How to throw the ultimate Sam´s Club Chex Party Mix-Change:

Set the date and spread the word. Announce your Chex Party Mix-Change using some of these festive invites

Mix it up. Use these mouth-watering Chex recipe cards including Chex Pumpkin Pie Crunch and Hot Buttered Yum Chex Mix and this shopping list to make party prep a snap

Share the fun. Use some of these easy tips & tricks to add some extra flare to your party and check out some of the packaging ideas so your guests don´t go home empty handed

Visit ChexPartyMixChange.com for even more party-planning tips and be sure to also check out Sam´s Club, your one stop Chex spot that has everything you need to throw a Chex Party Mix-Change!



To Enter : Tell me which of the recipes on ChexPartyMixChange.com you are most looking forward to trying?




~The Prize~
One $25 Sam’s Club gift card


One box of Chex cereal





To qualify for your first entry (and any extra entries) you MUST first tell me which of the recipes on ChexPartyMixChange.com you are most looking forward to trying? and leave your email address!

For extra entries you can:
each one equals one extra entry unless otherwise marked

  • •Friend me on Google Connect on this blog
  • Friend my main blog on Goggle Connect
  • Subscribe to this Blog on RSS or Email
  • Subscribe to my main blog on RSS or Email
  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Tweet about this Giveaway, YOU MUST include a link to this post and the hashtag #myblogspark
    (each tweet = 1 entry, can tweet up to twice a day)







THAT'S 7 Different ways for you to enter! Just make sure to do the Mandatory entry first!
AND be sure to submit a new entry for every method you use!
Also remember to include your Twitter username when submitting a Twitter Follow Entry!


Thanks to MyBlogSpark, General Mills, and Sam's Club for providing the materials for this giveaway!


Open to US and Canada residents only please. Entries will be accepted until 11:59pm CST Sunday December 11th. The winner will be chosen via a random number generator Monday December 12th and announced that same day before noon CST. The winner will be notified by email and required to claim the win within 48 hours. Name, address, and phone number will be required to pass on to MyBlogSpark to get the prize to you.


















post signature

The Winner is...



In the Chick-fil-A giveaway out of 5 vaild entries ...the winner is...






 
 
 Tabathia said... 1

I am a friend of frost

tbarrettno1 at gmail dot com

November 27, 2011 1:21 AM
Congrats!
 
Sending an email now, and you'll have 48 hours to confirm your win!
 
 
 
 
post signature

Thursday, November 24, 2011

Chick-fil-A Widget and Giveaway! Ends 11/30

The Cow Watches are coming to Chick-fil-A Kid’s Meals! During the holidays Chick-fil-A Kid’s Meals are featuring the never before seen Cow Watches to reach families with a simple and fun message: In your busy holiday season make sure to stop and take a few moments together as a family to spend quality “time” with one another. The Chick-fil-A Cow Watch widget is available now with fun and enriching activities, worksheets and quizzes so that your family can share in the holiday fun!

10 Fun Family Activities!
The Cow Watch widget has an assortment of 15 minutes of engaging family activities so you will never have a dull moment this holiday season!


Take The Holiday Quiz!
Are you the first on your block to deck the halls? Find out if you are the top holiday fanatic in your house with the Holiday Quiz!



Want to win a Free Chick-fil-A Calendar that includes great coupons for yourself?

Just take the trivia quiz and share their results in the comments section below!

Winner will be drawn December 1st! Entries accepted no later than November 30th 11:59pm CST


post signature

Monday, November 21, 2011

A few Winners to Announce...


I have only have two winners to announce, with no entries in the Alessi's Ark Giveaway

 
In the Harry Potter giveaway out of 5 vaild entries ...the winner is...




 
 
 Kelly said... 5

I got 3/5 correct

KellywcuATyahooDOTcom

November 17, 2011 3:17 PM


In the Kroger giveaway out of 148 vaild entries ...the winner is...







priscilla said... 92


https://twitter.com/#!/mommyrocksblog/status/136615749535006721

November 15, 2011 7:25 PM


Congrats!
 
Sending emails now, and you'll have 48 hours to confirm your wins!
 
 
 
 
post signature

Wednesday, November 16, 2011

Sample and Share Old Navy Outerwear from Crowdtap Review!





I'm a member over at Crowdtap! and because I am I lucked out on getting in on a sample and share with Old Navy Style Council to try out this season's awesome outerwear!

My daughter and I both received coupons good for one free outerwear item of our choice...and let me tell you we had a blast shopping our little hearts out at our local Old Navy Store!

We both loved the selection of outer wear there was to choose from at Old Navy. From casual, to dressy we both found coats in both categories we could see ourselves wearing!




My daughter and I had such a fun time going through all the styles, and my daughter... as always...enjoyed modeling for the pictures!








My daughter loved both the hoodie and the that she actually shelled out her own money for one of them and got both!







We both left happy with our purchases, safe in the knowledge we'd both be warm AND fashionable for the cold weather ahead...now if it would just get cold here in North Texas!





Check out Old Navy’s super cute outerwear collection at http://oldnvy.me/aRsDcf






post signature

Friday, November 11, 2011

Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 Giveaway!



The final face-off between good and evil is finally upon us as Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 is released on DVD November 11, 2011, just in time for the holidays! Join Harry, Ron and Hermione as they do battle against Voldemort in the epic conclusion to the film series everyone is talking about!
 
 
Take The Harry Potter Trivia Quiz!
 
Are you an expert in all things Potter? Test your knowledge in our trivia quiz! Discover if you are an expert or a novice by challenging your skills! The results might surprise you!
 
Discover The Harry Potter Buzz Portal!
 
Are you hungry for the latest in all things Potter? The Harry Potter Buzz Portal will give you real time updates on the trending Harry Potter topics from Facebook and Twitter. Plus, you can share your top three tips to having the ultimate Harry Potter party!
 
Want to win a Copy Of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2 for yourself?
 
Just take the trivia quiz and share their results in the comments section below!
 
Winner will be drawn November 21st! Entries accepted no later than November 20th 11:59pm CST
 
 
 

post signature

Alessi’s Ark Time Travel Review and Giveaway!






20 yr. old folk and style siren Alessi’s Ark released her first full length US album Time Travel on September 27th 2011.



Time Travel is already casting its ethereal spell on the British press, prompting unanimously positive reviews in magazines and broadsheets. Alessi’s Ark (aka Alessi Laurent-Marke) is also included in this month’s MOJO Magazine “Communion Club” feature highlighting the ongoing British folk scene led by million-sellers Mumford & Sons, who have been championing their Communion sister since inviting her to the gatherings several years ago. The devotion of Mumford’s Ben Lovett is such that he produced a special-edition EP in 2009.



Named for Lovett’s nascent Communion Records and the Sunday evening jam-sessions and gigs at London’s Notting Hill Arts Club that spawned it, the Communion collective includes artists like Laura Marling and seeks to promote a talented new generation of London-based songwriters. MOJO’s piece relates Lovett’s sentiments toward the collective, ‘“It’s like exercise for the soul… [a way of] giving something back.’”



Swoons Alessi about her experience, “Ben introduced me to Communion and before long I’d found a full band among the patchwork of people involved with the nights. It felt like stepping into a family.” However Mumford’s Communion community isn’t the only verdant musical scene Laurent-Marke has worked in. In 2009 she spent time in Nebraska with Bright Eyes and Bright Eyes/Monsters of Folk member Mike Mogis, who produced her debut UK album Notes from the Treehouse.
 
 
My Take
 
Alessi’s Ark has a beautiful, nightingale voice that is sweet and haunting that goes well with the soft folk songs she sings.
 
I've been watching A LOT of Grey's Anatomy as of late and the WHOLE Time Travel album strikes me as a perfect match for the soundtrack of Grey's Anatomy, so if you like those songs you'll enjoy Time Travel!
 
You can click here to get a preview of all the songs on the album!
 
My Favorite was the pretty piano piece "The Fever"


To Enter : Go check out Alessi's Ark Youtube page here and tell me which video you enjoy the most!
 




~The Prize~
Alessi’s Ark Time Travel Album







To qualify for your first entry (and any extra entries) you MUST first tell me which video you enjoy the most and leave your email address!

For extra entries you can:
each one equals one extra entry unless otherwise marked
  • •Friend me on Google Connect on this blog
  • Friend my main blog on Goggle Connect
  • Subscribe to this Blog on RSS or Email
  • Subscribe to my main blog on RSS or Email
  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Tweet about this Giveaway, YOU MUST include a link to this post 
  • (each tweet = 1 entry, can tweet up to twice a day)








THAT'S 9 Different ways for you to enter! Just make sure to do the Mandatory entry first!
AND be sure to submit a new entry for every method you use!
Also remember to include your Twitter username when submitting a Twitter Follow Entry!


Thanks to SneakAttack Media for providing the materials for this giveaway!


Open to US and Canada residents only please. Entries will be accepted until 11:59pm CST Sunday November 20th. The winner will be chosen via a random number generator Monday November 21st and announced that same day before noon CST. The winner will be notified by email and required to claim the win within 48 hours. Your name and address will be needed to get the prize to you.












post signature

MyBlogSpark Kroger Free Milk Event and Giveaway!


Disclosure: The Kroger gift card, information, and giveaway have been provided by Kroger and General Mills through MyBlogSpark.


Want to save even more when shopping at Kroger? Purchase any four participating General Mills products* that your family knows and loves and Kroger will reward you for your purchases. It´s that simple! Head to your local Kroger to take advantage of this great offer:



From November 13th through November 26th, with the purchase of any four participating General Mills products, you will either receive free milk (up to $3; limit of 2) or to receive $3 off your shopping order**





Look for some of your favorite participating General Mills products like Cheerios, Pillsbury Ready to Bake Cookies, Nature Valley Bars and Fiber One Bars



Promotion varies in different locations. Please be sure to check your local Kroger Co. Family of Stores for specific deals and offers which include Kroger, Ralphs, King Scoopers, City Market, Dillons, Smith´s, Fry´s, QFC, Baker´s, Owen´s, Jay C Food Stores, Hilander, Gerbes, Food4Less, Fred Meyer, Pay Less Supermarkets and Scott´s Food & Pharmacy



What´s better than being rewarded for buying your favorite products from your favorite store? Visit Kroger.com for more information and great ways to save and be sure to check out the Kroger Facebook page to join the conversation and share which General Mills products you´d like to stock up on during the promotion.




*Excludes General Mills meal and baking products including; Betty Crocker, Old El Paso, Progresso, Hamburger Helper, Macaroni Grill, Wanchai Ferry, Yoplait


**Promotion varies based on store location; check your local Kroger store for details (Cash Offer: Mid South, Delta, Mid Atlantic, SW Louisiana stores, Central Missouri stores and Dillons Missouri stores)





To Enter : Tell me which General Mills product are you looking forward to stocking up on?




~The Prize~
One $25 Kroger gift card






To qualify for your first entry (and any extra entries) you MUST first tell me which General Mills product you look forward to stocking up on and leave your email address!

For extra entries you can:
each one equals one extra entry unless otherwise marked

  • •Friend me on Google Connect on this blog
  • Friend my main blog on Goggle Connect
  • Subscribe to this Blog on RSS or Email
  • Subscribe to my main blog on RSS or Email
  • Follow me on Twitter
  • Tweet about this Giveaway, YOU MUST include a link to this post and the hashtag #myblogspark
    (each tweet = 1 entry, can tweet up to twice a day)
  • Like Kroger on Facebook
  • Like Kroger on Twitter







THAT'S 9 Different ways for you to enter! Just make sure to do the Mandatory entry first!
AND be sure to submit a new entry for every method you use!
Also remember to include your Twitter username when submitting a Twitter Follow Entry!


Thanks to MyBlogSpark, General Mills, and Kroger for providing the materials for this giveaway!


Open to US and Canada residents only please. Entries will be accepted until 11:59pm CST Sunday November 20th. The winner will be chosen via a random number generator Monday November 21st and announced that same day before noon CST. The winner will be notified by email and required to claim the win within 48 hours. Name, address, and phone number will be required to pass on to MyBlogSpark to get the prize to you.















post signature

Wednesday, November 9, 2011

flipflop wines Launches “Give the Gift of Giving” Sweepstakes






Winner and three guests travel with Soles4Souls on an international mission to distribute shoes to
those in need!


Livermore CA (October 31, 2011) – flipflop Wines launches the “Give the Gift of Giving” sweepstakes on November 1, 2011 nationwide. The winner will receive a trip for four to an international destination with Soles4Souls, the international shoe charity, to “give the gift” of shoes to people in need.


 
Consumers can enter the “flipflop Wines Give the Gift of Giving” sweepstakes online by visiting http://www.facebook.com/flipflopwines


This consumer sweepstakes is the next phase of the flipflop Wines’ partnership with Soles4Souls. Since partnering with Soles4Souls in early 2011, flipflop wines has donated over $100,000 from wine sales proceeds to the charity and is helping collect and distribute thousands of pairs of shoes to those in need.


"Giving and gifting are an important part of the holiday season. I am very proud of our relationship with Soles4Souls and to announce this sweepstakes program that will allow others to experience the real joy of making a difference in the lives of others,” said David Georges, vintner, flipflop wines.

More than 300 million children in the world remain barefoot, a situation that spreads parasitic diseases and other health issues. Since 2005, Soles4Souls has given over 16 million pairs of new and gently worn shoes to people in over one hundred twenty-seven countries.

“The best feeling in the world is giving of yourself knowing that your efforts truly matter. The “flipflop Wines Give the Gift of Giving” sweepstakes provides an opportunity to experience a foreign culture and touch lives offering hope to people in need in a new and exciting way.You will be part of a team helping to change the world, one pair at a time,” said Wayne Elsey, Founder and CEO ofSoles4Souls.


 

flipflop Wines, distributed by Underdog Wine Spirits, are a collection of expressive, wellbalanced wines that are a perfect fit with today's casual lifestyle. With seven varietals, including Cabernet Sauvignon, Chardonnay, Merlot, Moscato, Pinot Grigio, Pinot Noir and Riesling, there is a flipflop wine for everyone. "These wines deliver true varietal character at an exceptionalvalue (SRP$7)," states Georges. For more information on flipflop wines, visit http://www.flipflopwines.com/.

NO PURCHASE NECESSARY. Open only to legal residents of the United States who are 21
years of age or older at time of entry. Sweepstakes ends 12/15/11. Void in CA and other states
where prohibited or restricted by law. Subject to complete official rules available at
http://www.facebook.com/flipflopwines or by mail to “flipflop Wines Give the Gift of Giving Official Rules”, 159 West 25th St., 2nd Floor, New York, NY 10001.


 
About Underdog Wine & Spirits

Underdog Wine & Spirits, an unleashed unit of The Wine Group, is the champion of emerging
brands for the new millennium: the "underdogs" of the sometimes stuffy wine and spirits world.We work with domestic and international producers to craft unique adult beverages that are a breed apart. The home of Cupcake, FishEye, flipflop, Big House and Octavin Home Wine Bar, our portfolio includes many of today's most dynamic growth brands. Visit http://www.udws.com/ for more information.



About Soles4Souls

Soles4Souls collects new shoes to give relief to the victims of abject suffering and collects used
shoes to support micro-enterprise efforts to eradicate poverty. Soles4Souls’ other two divisions, Clothes4Souls and Hope4Souls, provide the same relief and support through clothing and other necessities. Donating parties are eligible for tax advantages. Visit http://www.giveshoes.org/, http://www.clothes4souls.org/ , or http://www.hope4souls.org/ for more information.




post signature

Sunday, October 30, 2011

The Winners are

Sorry for the delay, getting really fed up with our Internet provider Charter...Will be contacting ATT tomorrow...

I have two winners to announce, with only one entry in Song of the Nile Giveaway, Gloria is the winner

Then in the Winnie the Pooh giveaway out of 5 vaild entries ...the winner is...











 
 
 Kim said... 2

Piglet :)



kimkellydesigns at yahoo dot com

October 22, 2011 10:02 AM
 
Congrats!
 
Sending an email now, and you'll have 24 hours to confirm your win!
 
post signature

Thursday, October 27, 2011

THE SECRET WORLD OF ARRIETTY!!! New Studio Ghibli Release from Disney for 2012!!





THE SECRET WORLD OF ARRIETTY
DISNEY

Disney.com/Arrietty

Genre:                                      Animation/AdventureRating:                                     

TBDRelease Date:                           February 17, 2012

Voice Cast:      Bridgit Mendler, Amy Poehler, Carol Burnett, Will Arnett, David Henrie, Moises Aria

Director:                                   Hiromasa Yonebayashi
Producer:                                  Toshio Suzuki
Screenplay by :                         Hayao Miyazaki and Keiko Niwa

Based on “The Borrowers” by:    Mary Norton

Director – English Language Version: Gary Rydstrom

Executive Producers – English Language Version: Kathleen Kennedy, Frank Marshall

English Language Screenplay by: Karey Kirkpatrick


Residing quietly beneath the floorboards are little people who live undetected in a secret world to be discovered, where the smallest may stand tallest of all.  From the legendary Studio Ghibli (“Spirited Away,” “Ponyo”) comes “The Secret World of Arrietty,” an animated adventure based on Mary Norton’s acclaimed children’s book series “The Borrowers.”

Arrietty (voice of Bridgit Mendler), a tiny, but tenacious 14-year-old, lives with her parents (voices of Will Arnett and Amy Poehler) in the recesses of a suburban garden home, unbeknownst to the homeowner and her housekeeper (voice of Carol Burnett). Like all little people, Arrietty (AIR-ee-ett-ee) remains hidden from view, except during occasional covert ventures beyond the floorboards to “borrow” scrap supplies like sugar cubes from her human hosts. But when 12-year-old Shawn (voice of David Henrie), a human boy who comes to stay in the home, discovers his mysterious housemate one evening, a secret friendship blossoms. If discovered, their relationship could drive Arrietty’s family from the home and straight into danger. The English language version of “The Secret World of Arrietty” was executive produced by Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall, and directed by Gary Rydstrom. The film hits theaters Feb. 17, 2012.


Notes:
Hayao Miyazaki is one of the most influential and admired filmmakers working in animation today and is a major figure in the Japanese cinematic landscape. His films have inspired moviegoers and colleagues around the world, from Pixar's John Lasseter to fantasist Guillermo del Toro to Chinese director Tsui Hark, and consistently top the box office in his native Japan. Director Hiromasa Yonebayashi, a top animator at Studio Ghibli, was responsible for the animation in a signature scene in “Ponyo,” in which Ponyo runs atop ocean waves.English language voice talent director Gary Rydstrom is a seven-time Academy AwardĂ’ winning sound designer/mixer (“Terminator 2: Judgment Day”). He joined Pixar Animation Studios as an animation film director in 2003.  His directorial debut for the studio was the Academy Award®-nominated short film “Lifted,” and he directed the short film “Hawaiian Vacation,” which was released with “Cars 2” in June 2011.Kathleen Kennedy and Frank Marshall are highly successful producing partners whose films, separately and together, include “The Curious Case of Benjamin Button,” “E.T.,” “Who Framed Roger Rabbit?,” the Indiana Jones films and the Jurassic Park films. In total, Kennedy and Marshall have earned 11 Oscar® nominations. English language screenplay writer Karey Kilpatrick’s credits include “Spiderwick Chronicles” and “Over the Hedge,” which he also directed (with Tim Johnson).






post signature

Tuesday, October 25, 2011

Winnie The Pooh DVD BLU RAY Combo Pack on Sale today 10/25! Review!!




Walt Disney Animation Studios returns to the Hundred Acre Wood with "Winnie the Pooh," the first big-screen Pooh adventure from Disney's feature animation studios in more than 35 years. With the timeless charm, wit and whimsy of the original featurettes, this all-new movie reunites audiences with the philosophical "bear of very little brain" and friends Tigger, Rabbit, Piglet, Owl, Kanga, Roo-and last, but certainly not least, Eeyore, who has lost his tail.

"The entire story takes place in the course of a day," says director Don Hall. "It's business as usual in the Hundred Acre Wood. Pooh wakes up absolutely famished and he happens to have no honey. So that sets him out on his journey, which is ultimately derailed-first by a contest to find Eeyore a new tail."
Pooh later finds a note from Christopher Robin that reads: "Gone out. Busy. Back soon." But then Owl misinterprets the note, proclaiming that the boy has been captured by a creature called a "Backson." Soon, the whole gang is on a wild quest to save Christopher Robin from the imaginary culprit. It turns out to be a very busy day for a bear who simply hoped to find some honey.



Disc 1 - Blu-ray
  • Feature Film
  • Exclusive Winnie The Pooh And His Story Too
  • Exclusive Sing Along With The Movie
  • 5 Deleted Scenes With Director Intro
  • "The Ballad of Nessie" Theatrical Short
  • Mini Adventures of Winnie The Pooh: "Pooh's Balloon" Short

Disc 2 - DVD
  • Feature Film
  • 3 Deleted Scenes With Director Intro
  • "The Ballad of Nessie" Theatrical Short
  • Mini Adventures of Winnie The Pooh: "Pooh's Balloon" Short


I'm from the old school of Pooh, the Many Adventures of Winnie the Pooh from the late 70's is the one I grew up with. With the voice talents of Sterling Holloway as Pooh Himself, and the classic song Heffalumps and Woozels I thought the new Winnie the Pooh movie would pale in comparison.....however it gave the Pooh of my childhood a good run for it's money!

Jim Cummings steps in Sterling's place almost seamlessly, he mimics Sterling's voice to where you almost can't tell the difference! John Cleese from Monty Python fame takes over the reins as narrator with charming wit and humour and to top it all off Zooey Deschanel adds her beautiful vocals to the soundtrack!

I'm seriously going to have to rewatch Many Adventures just to see if there were as many jokes that appealed to adults as well as children like Winnie the Pooh has! And of course I defy anyone that watches Winnie the Pooh not to get " A Pooh Bear Takes Care of His Tummy" NOT  stuck in their heads....I mean come on...a duet with a burbling tummy....it doesn't get any cuter than that!

Right now there is a coupon here good for $5 off the 3 disc combo pack that's good until 11/1

I received a review copy in return for my honest opinion












post signature

Monday, October 24, 2011

Song of the Nile by Stephanie Dray REVIEW AND GIVEAWAY!!

Release Date
October 4, 2011

**From the Press Release**

In January 2011, Stephanie Dray’s critically acclaimed Lily of the Nile introduced Cleopatra Selene, daughter of Cleopatra and Marc Antony, to readers. Heir to one empire and prisoner of another, it fell to Princess Selene to save her brothers, outwit Augustus Caesar and reclaim the throne of Egypt.
With the captivating sequel, Song of the Nile, released October 4th 2011, Selene returns not as a prisoner of Rome but as the bride of King Juba of Mauretania--and as Mauretania’s Queen.

Synopsis:

Sorceress. Seductress. Schemer. Cleopatra’s daughter has become the emperor’s most unlikely apprentice and the one woman who can destroy his empire…

Having survived her perilous childhood as a royal captive of Rome, Selene pledged her loyalty to Augustus and swore she would become his very own Cleopatra. Now the young queen faces an uncertain destiny in a foreign land.

Forced to marry a man of the emperor’s choosing, Selene will not allow her new husband to rule in her name. She quickly establishes herself as a capable leader in her own right and as a religious icon. Beginning the hard work of building a new nation, she wins the love of her new subjects and makes herself vital to Rome by bringing forth bountiful harvests.

But it’s the magic of Isis flowing through her veins that makes her indispensable to the emperor. Against a backdrop of imperial politics and religious persecution, Cleopatra’s daughter beguiles her way to the very precipice of power. She has never forgotten her birthright, but will the price of her mother’s throne be more than she’s willing to pay?

Berkley Trade October 2011 (Trade Paperback)




Song of the Nile by Stephanie Dray
Berkley Trade October 2011 (Trade Paperback, 416 pages)
# ISBN-10: 0425243044
# ISBN-13: 9780425243046


About the Author:


Stephanie graduated from Smith, a small women’s college in Massachusetts where–to the consternation of her devoted professors–she was unable to master Latin. However, her focus on Middle Eastern Studies gave her a deeper understanding of the consequences of Egypt’s ancient clash with Rome, both in terms of the still-extant tensions between East and West as well as the worldwide decline of female-oriented religion.

Before she wrote novels, Stephanie was a lawyer, a game designer, and a teacher. Now she uses the transformative power of magic realism to illuminate the stories of women in history and inspire the young women of today. She remains fascinated by all things Roman or Egyptian and has–to the consternation of her devoted husband–collected a house full of cats and ancient artifacts.


You may remember I reviewed (...and loved!) the first book in this series Lily of the Nile. That being said, I was delighted to be given the chance to read more of Cleopatra Selene's adventures in Augustus' Rome...And I wasn't disappointed!

I find it SOOOOO hard to be able to give a review on this book as it has SOOOO much in it!! And believe me I gobbled up every new twist and turn in Selene's story! I can of course in good conscious say that the reader will be treated to the royal wedding of Selene and Juba, and we get to see how they both travel to their new Kingdom Mauretania and settle into being a King and Queen.

It was wonderful to still get glimpses into Julia's life because I enjoyed her character, and Ms Dray is a woman after my own heart keeping Bast alive and well in this book...please keep her that way ;) Yay for kitties! And Of course Selene is older in this book...which presents more difficult challenges...being a young woman in a world mostly governed by men comes with it's own new set of problems. It was nice to see that nice transition to child to young woman even though some trials were difficult to watch the sweet herione go through...it was quite an emotional book...but very rewarding and I can't wait for the third book!!!

Oh and a few minor warnings that I'd like to mention, though given the subject matter and the historical time frame it shouldn't be too surprising. There is the issues of incestuous relationships ( though nothing too nothing graphic),and rape (again nothing too graphic)....again nothing too surprising given the book involves Egyptian Royalty and Romans!

WANT TO WIN A COPY FOR YOURSELF?
Simply do one or more of the following
(each one counts as one entry, please leave a separate comment for each entry...and don't forget to leave an email address so I can contact you if you win!)

Join Stephanie's Newletter here
Follow her on Twitter here (please leave your twitter name in entry comment)
or
Follow her on facebook here (please leave facebook name in comment)

Giveaway is open to US and Canada, Giveaway ends Friday October 28th 11:59pm, Winner will be drawn and announced the following day.

I was sent the book "Song of the Nile" free to review and offered a copy for a lucky reader,  however just because I got a free book did in no way shape my judgement of said book......that is all ;)







post signature

Friday, October 21, 2011

YAY! Fright Night on DVD 12/13!!!!

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE


Bring Home the Action-Packed, Blood-Sucking Thriller with Bite





“…. Colin Farrell really gets the blood pumping.”
-- Alynda Wheat, People



On Blu-ray 3D™, Blu-ray™, DVD, Digital and On-Demand, December 13, 2011


Complete with never-before-seen, UNRATED bonus features that add to a bloody good time





BURBANK, Calif., October 14, 2011 — DreamWorks Pictures’ Fright Night, starring Colin Farrell, arrives on December 13, 2011 just in time to take a bite out of the holidays on Blu-ray 3D™, Blu-ray™, DVD, Digital and On-Demand. Inspired by the 1985 gothic horror cult classic and directed by Craig Gillespie (Lars and the Real Girl, Mr. Woodcock), all hell breaks loose when High School Senior Charley Brewster (Anton Yelchin) discovers his charming new neighbor Jerry (Farrell) is a Vampire preying on his neighborhood.


Packed with un-rated bonus features, the Blu-ray release includes a fang-in-cheek mockumentary “Peter Vincent: Swim Inside My Mind,” a hilarious satirical look at David Tennant’s egocentric “rock star” anti-hero character, Peter Vincent; “The Official How to Make a Funny Vampire Movie Guide;” “Squid Man: Extended and Uncut;” “Frightful Facts & Terrifying Trivia;” “Deleted Scenes;” and a “Gag Reel.” Also included is the uncensored “No One Believes Me” music video directed by Fright Night’s director Craig Gillespie and performed by hip hop recording artist Kid Cudi.


Proclaimed, “A Bloody Good Time” by Trey Alexander (Fandango.com), Fright Night features an all-star cast including: Colin Farrell (Horrible Bosses, Crazy Heart), Anton Yelchin (Star Trek, Terminator Salvation), Toni Collette (Academy Award® nominee for The Sixth Sense, and Golden Globe® winner for United States of Tara), Christopher Mintz-Plasse (Kick Ass, Superbad), David Tennant (Dr. Who, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire) and Imogen Poots (Jane Eyre, 28 Weeks Later).


Charley (Anton Yelchin) is a high school senior who’s on top of the world—he’s running with the popular crowd and dating Amy (Imogen Poots), the most coveted girl in school. But trouble arrives when Jerry (Colin Farrell) moves in next door. He seems like a nice guy––at first. But there’s something not quite right, and no one else, including Charley’s mom (Toni Collette) seems to notice. After his classmates start to mysteriously disappear without a trace, Charlie discovers that there is more to his new neighbor than meets the eye. Now he must do all he can to protect his mom and girlfriend Amy from meeting the same fate as his best friend Ed Thompson (Christopher Mintz-Plasse).


Fright Night will be available to own and for in-home viewing as follows:


3-Disc Blu-ray 3D Combo Pack (1 Blu-ray 3D + 1 Blu-ray + 1 DVD with Digital Copy)
Suggested Retail Price: $49.99 U.S./$56.99 Canada
Bonus Features:
  • Gag Reel (unrated)
  • Kid Cudi Music Video (uncensored version) “No One Believes Me”
  • Squid Man – Extended & Uncut
  • Peter Vincent: Swim Inside My Mind
  • The Official “How to Make a Funny Vampire Movie” Guide
  • Frightful Facts & Terrifying Trivia
  • 5 Deleted Scenes with intros by Director Craig Gillepsie (Ride to School; Neighborly; Once A Freak, Always A Freak; Midori & Kerosene; and Back at the Penthouse)


2-Disc Blu-ray Combo Pack (1 Blu-ray + 1 DVD)
Suggested Retail Price: $30.99 U.S./$46.99 Canada
Bonus Features:
  • Gag Reel (unrated)
  • Kid Cudi Music Video (uncensored version) “No One Believes Me”
  • Squid Man – Extended & Uncut
  • Peter Vincent: Swim Inside My Mind
  • The Official “How to Make a Funny Vampire Movie” Guide
  • Frightful Facts & Terrifying Trivia
  • 5 Deleted Scenes with intros by Director Craig Gillepsie (Ride to School; Neighborly; Once A Freak, Always A Freak; Midori & Kerosene; and Back at the Penthouse)


1-Disc DVD (1 DVD)
Suggested Retail Price: $29.99 U.S./$35.99 Canada
Bonus Features:
  • Gag Reel (unrated)
  • Kid Cudi Music Video (uncensored version) “No One Believes Me”
  • Squid Man – Extended & Uncut



Digital (3D, High Definition & Standard Definition)
Suggested Retail Price: 3D & High Definition = $39.99 U.S./$35.99 Canada
Standard Definition = $29.99 U.S./$35.99 Canada
Bonus Features:
  • Gag Reel (unrated)
  • Kid Cudi Music Video (uncensored version) “No One Believes Me”
  • Squid Man – Extended & uncut
  • Live in Las Vegas: An Interview with Peter Vincent
  • The Official “How to Make a Funny Vampire Movie” Guide


On-Demand
For additional information and pricing, please contact your television provider or favorite digital retailer. Bonus features are not offered with On-Demand.


DISC SPECIFICATIONS:
STREET DATE: December 13, 2011 (Direct Pre-book: 10/18 / Distributor Pre-book 11/1)
Feature Run Time: 106 minutes
Rating: U.S.: R/Canadian: CE: 14A (Bonus Material Not Rated)


Aspect Ratio: Blu-ray 3D & Blu-ray: 1.78:1 (Feature Film)
DVD: 16x9 Widescreen (Feature Film)


Audio: Blu-ray 3D & Blu-ray: 7.1 DTS-HD MA (English)/ 5.1 Dolby Digital (French & Spanish)
DVD: 5.1 Dolby


Languages& Subtitles: English and French



Film Synopsis:
Senior Charley Brewster (Anton Yelchin) finally has it all. He’s running with the cool kids and dating the hottest girl in high school (Imogen Poots). But all hell breaks loose when charming Jerry Dandridge (Colin Farrell) moves in next door. Charley thinks there’s something odd about him, although no one – including his mom (Toni Collette) – seems to notice. But after too many of his classmates vanish under bizarre circumstances, Charley comes to an unmistakable conclusion: Jerry is a vampire preying on his neighborhood!
Social Media:
Those who would like to stay connected with the exciting “Fright Night” release are encouraged to:
  • “Like” the Facebook page at http://www.facebook.com/frightnightmovie
  • Follow us on Twitter at http://twitter.com/#!/frightnight2011
  • Visit the website and mobile site: http://www.welcometofrightnight.com/#


About DreamWorks Studios:
DreamWorks Studios is a motion picture company formed in 2009 and led by Steven Spielberg and Stacey Snider in partnership with The Reliance Anil Dhirubhai Ambani Group. The company recently released “The Help,” which has resonated with audiences around the country and has earned over $100 million at U.S. box office. Upcoming releases include Steven Spielberg’s “War Horse.” DreamWorks Studios can be found on Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/DreamWorksStudios and on Twitter at http://twitter.com/dw_studios.





post signature